Skip to content

7-Zip Context Menu Not Working?

February 10, 2012

I’ve been using 7-Zip for years now and stumbled across a strange issue on my laptop. I’ve been unable to manage to get the context menu to show up despite checking the settings and reconfiguring them various times. It seems, when I downloaded 7-Zip I paid no attention to 64-bit vs. 32-bit, and here in lies the problem. I am running Windows 7 64-bit but had installed the 32-bit version of 7-Zip. Uninstalling the 32-bit version and installing the 64-bit version has solved the issue in what turned out to be a much easier fix than I had anticipated.

The remaining issue, would be to determine what causes the difference in behavior. Maybe something to do when I ever find the time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 9:07 pm

    I’ll save you the time… the reason is that a 32-bit shell extension (the 7-zip context menu) can’t be hosted in a 64-bit process (Windows Explorer).

    Raymond Chen (of ‘The Old New Thing’) explains the underlying technical reasons for this better than I ever could, if you’re curious:

    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/oldnewthing/archive/2008/10/20/9006720.aspx

  2. October 10, 2012 12:56 pm

    I had the same problem. The simple solution is install ‘7-Zip 9.29 alpha’. You will get the context menu of 7zip on your right-button.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

