Skip to content

Ponyo "Gake no Ue no Ponyo" [Movie]

September 8, 2009

I have finally got around to seeing Miyazaki’s lastest work, Ponyo.

Looking at the IMDB’s box office stats for the film, it seems its been a fairly good success in theaters here in America, but anyhow a friend and myself still managed to get a whole theater to ourselves for the showing.

I’m not really in the position to compare this movie to his other works given that the only other Miyazaki works I’ve seen are My Neighbor Totoro, Luputa: Castle in the Sky, and Kiki’s Delivery Service.  Others seem bothered that this Miyazaki film is solely a movie for kids (i.e. there’s not much more depth than that). Maybe from my own limited experience with Miyazaki works, I’m under the impression that is his specialty. John Beifuss points out that the film is eco-conscious, but given that the major driving forces in the movie are of magical natures; and the only person seeming to seek a balance in nature gives off a strong “bad guy aura” until towards the end of the movie.  Then again, if you want more depth from the movie, maybe we could try criticizing the mother.  Who leaves two five-year-old’s alone in the middle of typhoon to end all typhoons?

Anyhow, while watching the movie, the first thing to catch my eye is that there are definite continuity flaws in the little details, but every time I was about to question if one had made it to the main plot line, they seemed to suddenly solve the issue.  Also it takes what seemed to be well over fifteen minutes of our human characters being exposed to a fish with the face of human before anyone pointed out this obvious fact, but it was eventually pointed out.  Now I know, it’s a “children’s fiction movie,” but still.

The animation was, as to be expected, in a word, beautiful.  I wouldn’t expect any less from Studio Ghibli.

Would I say watching the movie was a waste of my time? No, by no means. Might there possibly have been more entertaining things to have been watching? Maybe. I’ve never rated a Miyazaki film before, but I give Ponyo a 7/10.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

