Skip to content

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (2009)

September 13, 2009

I’ve watched every new episode in this incarnation of Haruhi including all of the Endless Eight arc. I was pretty excited when I originally heard there’d be fourteen new episodes of Haruhi. Too bad eight of those episodes were the same.
I really loved the original series the first time I saw it. Actually, it was even the first anime I purchased; yes, Haruhi started my anime collection. And right now, I have a Haruhi background on my desktop.

But really, its hard to say that I like this reimplementation of Haruhi. But I also can’t say that I dislike it.

Since its intended to be taken as their new episodes flowing seamlessly with the old episodes, the first thing that bugs me is that the style of artwork is different. I fell in love with the style of the original Haruhi, seriously, the style of the artwork is something I raved about quite a bit to people that had yet to see it after I first watched it.

I’ll be honest, I got about 8 new episodes worth of content of Haruhi after getting my hopes up for fourteen episodes. I don’t guess that’s too bad, it beats not having any new episodes at all. The author of the Haruhi Suzumiya short stories, Nagaru Tanigawa, has yet to finish the series. Not to mention, the anime has far from covered all the material in the novels. I’d really like to see more Haruhi books made as anime. Do I want to be disappointed again by Kyoto Animation? No, not really.

I don’t know what Kyoto animation was thinking, maybe ignoring significant arcs from the books (and repeating an episode eight times) is their ploy to leave material for them to cover in a third season?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 3:51 pm

    I actually just finished the last episode of S2 this morning. I have to say I was very pleased with the ending. I particularly find it interesting both seasons technically ended on the same thing, Kyon and Haruhi’s “date”. With of course S2 showing just a little more.

    With the exception of the Endless Eight episodes, I found the rest of the season to be entertaining along the same lines as the first season. What they were thinking when they decided to do eight episodes is absolutely beyond me.

    I really do hope they continue with the series, the best stories are yet to be animated. Alas if they do decide to continue, it will probably be another 3 years before it happens. Such a shame, they sure do animate the hell out of Shakugan no Shana though very quickly though don’t they.

    I’m kinda excited I’ve finally found some decent new Haruhi material I could start to vector once again.

  2. September 21, 2009 1:58 am

    As this season is almost drawn to a close only reshowing old content now, perhaps they will soon make an announcement as to whether or not they have plans for continuing animation of the series next year.

    And I’ll definitely keep an eye out for any new Haruhi vectors, as I love making me some Haruhi backgrounds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

